Norfolk Sunrise at Work


Norfolk Sunrise’s organization and activities reflect the 5 Avenues of Rotary Service (Community Service, International Service, New Generations, Vocational Service and Club Service).  The broad scope of club activities are carried out through the 7 Standing Committees briefly described below below.  The Club is governed by a Board, chaired by the Club President, that includes the Chairs of each Standing Committee as well as the club's President Elect, Treasurer and Secretary.  

Click on the Committee links on the left for photos and descriptions of recent projects and activities.

Community Concerns and Environment Committee

The Committee manages the club’s Community Services budget, develops and oversees projects and activities the club undertakes to improve life in Norfolk. The 2013-14 committee members include Nancy Sherwin – Chair, Dave Bradshaw, Christine Fudge, Rudi Atkinson,  Helga Steurmer, Peter Wheatley & Jim Peters

Rotary Foundation and World Community Service Committee

The Committee manages the club’s World Community Services budget, promotes the work of The Rotary Foundation and oversees the club’s world community service initiatives. The 2013-14 committee members include  Jim Dawson – Chair,  Marjorie Dawson , Steve Malo, Andy Kooistra, Don Emerson & John Wallace

Youth Services

The Committee is responsible for a wide range of youth activities. including RotaryYouth Exchange , Early Act. Interact, Rotaract, Welshpool Youth Exchange, Rotary Youth Leadership Awards (RYLA), and Slapshop.  The 2013-14 committee members include Barbara Tanner Billings - Chair,  Keith Jones, Kristina Kett, Tina Millea, Julie Powell & Kim Scoyne.

Ways and Means

The Committee is responsible for all club fund raising activities.  The 2013-14 committee members include Gail Catherwood & Joanne Keifer - Chair,  Louise Schebesh, Kate Stratford, Yvonne DiPietro, Donna Raytrowsky, & Bettyanne Carty

Membership and Club Service

The Committee is responsible for all club membership recruitment, retention, member development/traininjg activities, and for promoting vocation as an avenue of service.  The 2013-14 committee members include Meika Matthews - Chair, Lucine McKay. Jim Oliver, Keith Flexman, Jim Oliver, Paul Zorad, Dave Douglas, Bob Pryor, & Sue Thompson

Public Relations and Communications

The Committee is responsible for all club internal and external communications activities  including a weekly club bulletin (The Sunriser), the club website and facebook pages, signage, press releases, club archives and advertizing Norfolk Sunrise and  Rotary programs.  The 2013-14 committee members include Ross Gowan - Chair, Stella Galloway, Ron McClure, Dave Nicolle, Pat Meikeljohn, Marlene Downing & Bill Clevette.


Members include Mark Wales, Keith Flexman, Gail Bouw, Sue O'Dwyer, Jeff Mereweather